How to Work From Home with a Toddler

Prepare yourself for battle.

Ashley Shannon
5 min readJan 2, 2023
Photo by Yuri Shirota on Unsplash

I’ve been working from home for almost fifteen years in some capacity or another, both successfully and unsuccessfully. The number of times someone has told me that I must have the best job in the world is more than I could ever count or even remember. Parents, especially moms, gush about how amazing it would be to work at home and get to spend more time with their children. I smile and nod, thinking about all the times I’ve wanted to pull my hair out while doing this “best job ever”.

In truth, working from home while caring for my children at the same time is nice, about twenty percent of the time.

The picture perfect image that most people have in their mind when they think about my job is the same one I had when I first started. I thought that it would basically be the same as being a stay at home mom. I would get to spend more time with my children and work from the comfort of my own home, in my sweats and a messy bun.

Oh, how wrong I was.

The different between being a stay at home mom and a work from home mom is that I have twice or three times more things to do each hour, while watching my kids at the same time. There is no one else to help most of the time, just me and the kids most days. The idea of hiring help…

--

--

Ashley Shannon

Thirty something queer mom of two, one with autism. Lover of sushi, coffee, and wine. Living a life of travel. Top Writer ashleyshannononmedium@gmail.com